Lorraine’s White Bean Chicken Chili

Standard

There are a few things I consider myself pretty good at.  Two of them are my chili that I make.  I get asked over and over for my White Bean Chicken Chili recipe.  I happen to throw it together one day trying to use up tiny tidbitz of ingredients I had on hand.  Well, needless to say, it tasted so good to me, that I wrote down the ingredients and I continue to share this with my family and friends.  I hope you enjoy.  I’ve never taken a picture of it, but if I do, I will add it to my post:)  I can make this in 30 minutes or less and it serves 6-8.

Lorraine’s White Bean Chicken Chili

1 (32 oz) carton of chicken broth

1 cooked rotisserie chicken ( I use the ones already cooked from the store)

1 c. sour cream

2 cans white navy beans (drained)

1 can kernel corn (drained)

1 can evaporated milk (regular sized)

½ cup milk

¼ c. flour

1 small can chopped green chilies (you can use mild or hot depending on your taste, I like Hatch’s brand mild)

1 can Hatch’s green chili cooking sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

Fajita seasoning to taste (about 1 tsp.)

4 oz. Colby/Jack or regular jack cheese

Remove chicken from bones and put in big pot with broth and bring to boil.  Add rest of ingredients except milk, evaporated milk, flour and cheese.  Cook on medium heat until mixture boils again.  Turn down heat and simmer.  In the meantime, add flour to milk to make thickening.  Stir until smooth, pour into pot and add evaporated milk and bits of cheese.  Heat until thick and bubbly.  Can serve with warm tortilla

Leave a Reply

