I Tried Making My Own Shampoo – Attempt #1

Standard

Being a hairstylist by trade, I have to admit I am intrigued by cosmetics.  Even though I can purchase hair and skin products at a professional price, I still am annoyed at the cost of them, especially lotions and creams.  I am getting more and more away from chemicals and preservatives as I age.  I guess I feel that that may be the main contributor to some of the health problems I deal with.

Today, I tried to make my own shampoo after researching recipes on the web.  I put together my own, but it definitely needs a little tweaking.  The one product I do love is the Dr. Woods Lavender Castile Soap with organic Shea Butter.  It has some amazing ingredients.  My recipe today was:

  • 1/4 c. Dr. Woods Lavender Castile Soap
  • 1/4 c. Distilled Water
  • 2 drops Jojoba Oil
  • 2 drops of Vegetable Glycerin

Although my hair had a ton of body, it was a little strange and I think that was due to the Glycerin (which probably added the body, but made it a little dull), so I would omit that ingredient.  I also think it stripped some of the color out of my hair. The shampoo did not lather at all and I washed it twice and that could have been due to the glycerin.  I did use a little of my current creme rinse I had on hand.  I love the castile soap for washing my face though and it smells fantastic!  I’ll most likely use the rest of it for body wash.  I have to say I like my professional products so much better after this attempt, but I am not going to give up.  I’ll make another attempt later.

Leave a Reply

