Homemade Lip Balm

Standard

OMG!  I just made my own lip balm.  I am in heaven!  I have been accumulating various oils and butters from my local health food store and after searching on the web for some ideas, I decided to dive in and make a trial batch.  It turned out better than expected and I can’t wait to share it with some of my family and friends!

Here’s how I did it and the products I used.  I also showed the quantity it made with the containers I used.

Homemade Herbal Peppermint Lip Balm

Ingredients for Homemade Herbal Peppermint Lip Balm (bees wax not shown)

This is how I did it.

I bought separate measuring cups to use for my lotions and potions so I could just wipe them out with a paper towel.  (They are not easy to clean)  I melted a little over a Tablespoon (Tablespoon plus a teaspoon) of beeswax in a measuring cup sitting in a pan of boiling water (acts like a double boiler).  As it was melting I added 1 Tablespoon of Shea Butter, 1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil (I bought this at Costco and use it for cooking), 1 Tablespoon Jojoba oil and  1/2 tsp of Cocoa Butter.  In a separate little container I squeezed the oil out of 2 Vitamin E capsules (acts as a preservative) and 10 drops of peppermint essential oil.  After the wax and oils were melted, I removed the measuring cup of wax and oil from the water and added my mixture of Peppermint Oil and Vitamin E.  I promptly poured into 3 small glass containers and the rest into some plastic bead containers (purchased from the craft store).  The bead containers worked well for my samples for people to try. I do not know how well they will seal if the lip balm melts in a hot car, but they were cheap and easy to purchase locally.   You can substitute ingredients to your liking.  The consistency turned out great.

Leave a Reply

