Homemade Deodorant

Standard

Today I was snowed in and my flight was cancelled for a trip.  In ways it was a blessing in disguise.  When you have a day that you don’t plan on, it’s so fun to take advantage of the time to do some things that you put on the back burner.  Of course, I decided to expand out in my healthy oil adventure and learn how to make my own deodorant.  Well I shoveled twice today and my deodorant is holding up great.  I searched on the web for a few different recipes and decided to make it simple and easy.  I had all the ingredients at home.  Here’s how I made it.

I took 1/4 c. of Arrowroot Powder, 1/4 c. of Baking Soda and combined that will enough Coconut Oil to make a paste in a consistency that I liked.  It ended up being around 5 Tbsp. of Coconut Oil.  I added probably 20 drops of Lavender Essential Oil and that was it.  It made around a cup of the stuff so I divided into 3 different containers.  Pretty darn easy.  You can use other oils/butters that you like.  Some recipes added Shea Butter and Coco Butter but I stuck with simple Coconut Oil for the 1st attempt.  When adding essential oils, my recommendation is to use oils that help with bacteria.  Tea tree would be nice but I wanted it to smell girly and I love lavender.  You can also add some vitamin E drops.  I haven’t noticed anything greasy on my clothing which is really nice.  This is what mine looked like:

I still smell a light scent of Coconut Oil and not so much Lavender Oil, but I have no complaints.  Edit: Okay, after using it for 4 days in a row, I started breaking out in a rash.  I might try adding more oil to see if that will help.  I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

