Homemade Body Butter

Standard

I did my taxes today 😦 and my reward for finishing them was to try to make a couple of batches of homemade body butter. I had a couple of different kinds in mind and since I’m rather tired of cold weather, I chose to make Lemon Coconut and Orange Cocoa. Kind of warm and tropical don’t you think?

I decided on a formula of 75% solids and 25% liquid oils. I added Vitamin E and essential oil. I thought the best choice for containers would be glass and the best value at the time were 4 oz. jelly jars that I purchased at Walmart. I made a large batch of lemon coconut using an entire 7 oz jar of Shea Butter, adding enough Coconut oil to make 9 oz of solid, 1.5 oz Sunflower oil, 1 oz Almond oil, and .5 oz Avocado oil. After melting those ingredients in a double boiler, I let it cool 30 minutes before adding 10 capsules of Vitamin E and 25 drops of Lemon essential oil.

I beat the oil off and on until it obtained a whipped, white creamy, peaked mixture. I made some labels and added some twine. It was enough to fill 5 jars and a small sample.

20120212-213822.jpg

I made a smaller batch of Orange Cocoa.  It smells like Orange Chocolate, but no worries, the scent is not particularly strong when it soaks into your skin.  I used Shea Butter, Cocoa Butter, Olive Oil, Apricot Oil, Vitamin E and Sweet Orange Essential Oil.  The consistency of this batch was firmer than the Lemon Coconut, but both are very nice on the skin.  Making Body Butter takes a good amount of time due to the whipping.  If you come across any great recipes, please share!

2 responses »

  1. I’m so excited about this!!! I can’t wait to try it! We are looking for some new ideas for raising money for our upcoming projects for the orphanages in Nicaragua…. Maybe we will try making some of these and selling them as a fundraiser. 🙂 I love all your ideas!

Leave a Reply

