Homemade Sunscreen

Standard

I decided to make my own face sunscreen.  I found a few basic ideas on line and tweaked it to my liking.  I wanted to use Titanium Dioxide as my active ingredient.  That or Zinc Oxide seems to be the best options for a natural based sunscreen with protection.  Although some carrier and essential oils have some natural sunscreen, it’s not enough protection to block out both kinds of harmful rays.  I used Coconut Oil, Beeswax, a dab of Cocoa Butter, a dab of Shea Butter, Aloe Vera Gelly, Vitamin E, some Emu Oil (my favorite!) and some Titanium Dioxide.  The Titamium Dioxide is weird stuff.  I wore a mask when pouring the powder in as suggested everywhere I’ve read.  It’s not good to breathe in the powder. I believe my sunscreen will be equivalent to an SPF of 20.  It felt okay on my face since I used good ingredients.  I’ll be happy to share the recipe, only if it works for me, so stay tuned and I will add to my post.  This is what it looked like after it was made.

Homemade Sunscreen

Homemade Sunscreen

Well, as sunscreen goes, it did an awesome job.  I was up at a high altitude, not a cloud in the sky and I applied it 3 times.  My face got just a little color with most of it on my nose.  I didn’t blister.  I ended up having sitting outside the following day with a friend having coffee.  I didn’t have my sunscreen on for about an hour and I definitely noticed the difference and ended up with a sunburn.  Would I make it and use it again.  Yes, in a heartbeat!

 

Leave a Reply

