Soothing Help for Migraines: Lavender-Chamomile Tea & Lavender-Peppermint Essential Oils

Standard
Soothing Help for Migraines: Lavender-Chamomile Tea & Lavender-Peppermint Essential Oils

I’ve been battling a migraine for a couple of days.  I know there are different kinds of migraines and the particular one I had was a tension migraine that started at the base of my head on the left side extending itself into the temple area.  With past experiences, I have had to go to the doctor for a prescription med after suffering with it for days.  I decided to find an alternative solution that would be holistic and healthier.  I decided to start with herbal tea.  I bought some Lavender and Chamomile buds in bulk at a tea store.  I LOVE lavender.  There are sooooo many uses for it.

I also bought some do-it-yourself tea bags in a 2 cup size and mixed the Lavender and Chamomile in equal portions.  I added liquid Stevia to my hot water (yep, I have a sweet tooth) and steeped my tea for 5 minutes.  It came out lovely!  So calming to drink.  So calming to your body.

To help with the headache, I mixed a few drops of Jojoba Oil with a drop of Peppermint EO and a drop of Lavender EO.  I massaged it on my scalp at the base of my head (right beneath the occipital) and in the temple area on both sides of my face.  It took about and hour for my headache to slowly unwind.  I had a small remainder of it the next day and repeated the same routine.  Within 2o minutes I was feeling pretty good.  Oh by the way, buying your own tea is really inexpensive compared to the grocery store and you can get what you like in it!  I put a small mixture in a jelly jar to keep handing for spooning out.

Lavender-Chamomile Tea

Lavender-Chamomile Buds for Tea

About Lorraine

My mind constantly thrives on how I can create my next idea. I look for inspiration and run with it. It's amazing what you can produce if you put a little heart into the things you are passionate about and love to do.

Leave a Reply

