Rag Quilts

Standard

I love Pinterest! So many ways to get inspired. After seeing rag quilts, I had to try making one. I haven’t used my sewing machine in a long time and when an email arrived from JoAnn Crafts with their flannel on sale, I decided to try making a rag quilt for a baby gift. It probably took me a total of 5 hours. I found the tutorial on a blog called do it yourself divas. I loved the look of the strip quilt so I had to give it a shot!

I chose to add some micro fleece and nubby fleece for a little added softness. I did use a flannel lining. So you need 7 coordinating fleece fabrics, 1/2 yard each, and 2 yards white flannel for the batting. I did not want binding so I ragged the edges as well. Use 100% cotton for better fraying.

Cut two 6″ strips and two 3″ strips from each of the main fabrics. Cut seven 6″ strips and seven 3″ strips from the white flannel. Place a strip of white flannel in between each panel strip, making sure the right sides are facing outward. Sew a seam length wise down the center to hold in place. After all your strips are finished, lay them out in a pattern you like. Sew them together making sure one side has all the seams. The other side will be flat. Trim the sides to make the quilt even and stitch around the outer edge.

Next, taking small 1/2 sections on each seam, snip edges towards seam being careful not to snip into the seam. Wash and dry quit to fray. Pull looses strings off and you are finished!

20121112-085642.jpg

Leave a Reply

